The Vengeance Man

The Vengeance Man series: book 1

At 34, an SAS soldier’s days of active service are over. After risking his life for his country, he is condemned to spend the rest of his days in a dead-end civilian job.

But one man decides he isn’t ready to be put out to pasture.

The Vengeance Man.

As the ‘operations manager’ for a specialist insurance firm, he can still work undercover for clients that include the Government.

And working behind the scenes, and beyond the law, he can still take up arms on behalf of the weak and the helpless.

A personal crusade is born.

And while the public may applaud as ‘The Vengeance Man’ brings justice to the guilty, very soon the Government has no choice but to bring their most lethal maverick operative under control.

The hunt begins … and it will end in death.

This enthralling, thought-provoking action-packed thriller, written by an insider from the front-line of intelligence work, is certain to appeal to readers of Lee Child, Frederick Forsyth, Robert Ludlum and Andy McNab. 

Available for purchase

UK: Amazon (Kindle ebook)

Book reviews

The Vengeance Man is the best new action thriller this year’ Matt Lynn, author of the best-selling Death Force series.

‘A heart-pumping ride, with more twists than a roller-coaster.’ Tom Kasey, author of the best-selling Trade Off.

Reader reviews

‘This is the first John Macrae book I have read but it certainly won’t be the last I reckon. He has created a fascinating and complex hero. He is flawed in many ways, but with a burning sense of justice. There will be comparisons with Lee Child and Jack Reacher, but that’s no bad thing: the Vengeance Man is just a good no-frills thriller.’

‘Although this was a work of fiction, it read like a true story written by someone who could have been involved in the fast-paced world of an SAS soldier. Since the author was involved in that kind of world it made the story more intriguing and at times I felt like I was reading history. A great thriller that everyone would enjoy.’

‘I thought this was a good story. I read Gerald Seymour and this is in the same vein as a lot of his stuff. If you’re a Seymour fan it should be right up your alley. If you’re an out of work Special Ops guy this would be an honourable way of life to retire into!’

The Vengeance Man is a book that grips you from the first page and refuses to let go. It starts off like an Andy McNab or Chris Ryan thriller with a washed up SAS man, but ends up in Lee Child territory, with a hero who brings justice into a bitter and lawless world. There is some great action, and an engaging hero. It’s nice to see a Brit writing in an American style.’

‘What the author does well – in that this book and others – is that you can’t pigeonhole the characters as goodies or baddies. His characterisation is excellent, and the plot flies along gripping you to the end. Without spoiling it, I thought the ending was brilliant.’

‘John Macrae is apparently formerly from the murky world of intelligence agencies/spies etc., and he’s able to add his knowledge well. The characters and plot hold sway and remain paramount; a good thing. Excellent read. Really hope he continues pushing out more books.’

‘This is an intriguing book, written as it is by a former member of the secret services. We get a lot of ‘inside information’ and wonder just how accurate it is.’

‘It’s a tough world, the world of the ‘fixer’ and one for the young and fit. Our man is 34 and put out to grass, or so he thinks. In fact he enters a whole new world of ‘fixing’, even more underground that the one he knows. Initially frustrated by the lack of action, he takes to fixing a number of society’s problem people. He believes himself to be safe, impossible to undercover, but in the murky waters behind the scenes nothing is as it seems.’

‘A great read, this book will leave you with questions and not a little sadness. I love the fast pace, the dodgy characters, never quite knowing who to trust, and the unbelievably hard-man action.’

Advertisements